Eight on the First – May 2015

This is our last “first” in this house! We are moving this month. A whole new house to explore. And maybe, one day, a longer couch.

20150501untitled shoot-_MG_2997

 

I wanted to take this photo of them standing across the road with the curve leading out of the frame behind them symbolically, but shooting with one hand, holding the 6′ sail, er, reflector in the other, and managing 8 kids while watching for cars at a time when everyone’s getting home from work, while their attention was on the two small neighbor boys doing flips on their bikes behind me, I guess my perfect composition was the first thing to go.

This entry was posted in Eight on the first, Photos, Seven on the First, Six on the First. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eight on the First – May 2015

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Yeah, you can’t compete with neighbor boys on bikes :-). Not sure exactly what composition you had in mind, but I think it turned out nicely. And the little ones not looking at the camera adds a little charm to it, in my humble opinion.

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks so much. I wanted to position myself a little lower and to the right, and them a little tighter together to the left so I could have a nice curve swooping behind them; something like this but with a little tweaking…
      I know what you mean, though. The photos that are just ‘off’ where you wanted them to be sometimes, for that reason, make their way into your memory and heart.

  2. Kerri says:

    Although it may have not come out the way you had envisioned it I have to say that the idea still comes across. Having the oldest to youngest makes the eyes go from left to right, and since the curve in the road is right there at the ‘end of the line’ my eyes continued on to follow the road. I pray that the moving process goes smoothly!

    Blessings,
    Kerri

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you, Kerri!! I think “smoothly” is the best possible wish… moving is never fun… but uneventful would be great! 🙂

  3. Mavis says:

    I didn’t realize you were moving. I thought you just did? I just did and I wouldn’t recommend it. 😉 When do we get to see the new house?

    • Sarah says:

      You are right, we did just move. This one should be permanent though! I’ll be posting photos nonstop once we move in and get settled! You guys seem to be making good progress with your fixer upper – you are so much braver than I am! Doing all that work while living there with kids. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

