Carrot Gingerbread Cake

Since I did the GAPS intro last year, I have been juicing in the morning. Like many others, I try to find things to do with the carrot pulp other than composting it. Since starting sourdough baking again, I always have starter on hand, so I combined the two for a twist on carrot cake.

I’m not a baker by any means, and I don’t really measure, but I made an effort to measure for this recipe so that I could share it. Please use this as a basis rather than a foolproof guide!

2 cups carrot pulp left over from juicing

2 cups sourdough starter (I use spelt flour – very absorbent –  so my starter is generally a 2 c fresh ground spelt: 1 c water. If you use whole wheat it might be closer to 1.5:1.)

2 eggs

1/4 c fat (coconut oil, melted butter, olive oil)

1/2 c sweetener (coconut sugar, sucanat, honey)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp allspice

sprinkle of ground cloves

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

Mix all except leavenings until it forms thick but loose, uniform batter. Add leavenings and mix well. Pour into greased 8×8″ baking dish. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until toothpick in center comes out clean and the top of the cake bounces back from gentle pressure.

Well, the kids like it, anyway. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Carrot Gingerbread Cake

  1. Sheila says:

    I’ve just started a sourdough starter a few days ago, so I decided to test it out for the first time with this recipe. Even though I just used regular shredded carrot (I don’t have a juicer) and my starter is much thinner than yours, it turned out great. Very fluffy and cakey!

    Definitely putting this in my recipe file!

  2. Stefanie says:

    Isn’t the internet wonderful: I search for sourdough starter and carrot pulp and look what I found! I just made this loosely, adapted for Gluten free…1c brown rice sourdough starter, 1/3 GF flour mix (including almond, coconut, quinoa, millet, tapioca starch), 1/3c water, 2 & 1/3c carrot pulp, only 1/4 c honey so it’s mildly sweet…and everything else as written….ended up cooking for about an hour – big difference in wetness and flour ingredients! It came out like a very dense, moist cake, almost like bread pudding…but dried a bit as it sat out on the counter. So tasty!

  3. Sarah says:

    That’s interesting! Thanks for sharing your results with GF sourdough starter!

Leave a Reply

