Flour sacks

I love getting packages, even if I ordered them. Today I opened the package that arrived and I was inordinately excited to receive this:

They were $9.99 but I got them for half that with another gift card from swagbucks.

I’ve been muddling through with grocery store cheesecloths but they just weren’t cutting it. The homemade yogurt I make is delicious, but a little more runny than I like, and when I try to strain it through the regular huge-holey cheesecloth (even quadrupled or folded in eighths), it just sort of smears itself everywhere and never really strains. I feel like I lose a lot of yogurt that way and it doesn’t get that nice greek yogurt consistency.

I wasted no time tearing open the package and rinsing the cloths in vinegar water so I could use them right away.

Then I used one to line a strainer, dumped a quart of fresh homemade yogurt in,

and hung the other three on the line to dry.

I fully realize it’s crazy to be so excited about some square pieces of plain cotton. That doesn’t stop me from grinning.

Now if only I can keep everyone from using these to wipe the floor or hold their rocks…

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flour sacks

  1. Dare says:

    I have only tried making yogurt once, Sarah. It turned out…shreddy? Any advice? I tried it in the crock pot.

  2. Sarah says:

    Sounds like your crock might be too hot and it cooked. I can’t tell you how many batches of yogurt I’ve cooked. I’ve even had to throw out a whole set of ball jars because I forgot the yogurt was incubating in the oven and pre heated it only to cook perfectly good yogurt. The rims stuck/burnt on the ball jars so hard I couldn’t open them. This happened more than once. LOL. I also tried it in the crock pot and it was too hot. It really shouldn’t get over 115-120 degrees or the culture starts to die and you just end up with curdled milk. I wonder if that would be good for some kind of cheese? LOL. But not yogurt, so much.
    I have preheated oven until it reaches about 100 or 115, then turned it off and let it incubate in there with a towel or two surrounding it. I always hang a “yogurt!” sign taped on the oven’s “on/off” switch now if it’s in the oven! Haven’t cooked any yogurt in a while that way.

  3. Lisa says:

    So excited! Can’t wait for the post!!!

  4. Mandy says:

    I use a clean, cut-up old t-shirt to strain my yogurt. The thicker the t-shirt, the better it strains. In fact, the more it seems like nothing could possibly get through the fabric, the happier I’ve been with the end result. Super clear whey (greenish in color with so very little solids) and yogurt much thicker than commercial Greek varieties (It reminds me of expensive hand cream, except that it tastes good!).

    Just line a strainer with the t-shirt. Strain for 7-8 hours in the refrigerator, stirring it up once midway through. Skipping the midway stir produces a consistency closer to commercial Greek yogurt. But I like mine at a cream cheese consistency since I use it for dips, sauces, and soups. Best straining method I’ve found so far.

Leave a Reply

