Hatched!

Now we know why the mama bird was sitting so steadily on her nest…

Miriam had been hanging out on the front deck, just watching the mama bird sit on her nest. She was fascinated with her. She called to me soon after I posted the last set of photos and excitedly let me know that the baby chicks were coming out of the eggs! I couldn’t believe it. We watched them for a while and I got some photos. She sat there and watched those chicks for a solid hour at least. And, then the mama came back and she sat there and watched her some more. We said a thankful prayer that God had let these birds set up house under our curious gaze! What a great and awe-inspiring lesson about God’s creation, and the miracle of life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hatched!

  1. Those baby birds are so sweet and weird looking! What a wonderful experience for you and the kids. The only baby birds I’ve seen around here are dead ones who fell out of the nest onto our grass. 😦

  2. Akialuz says:

    WOW  Sarah!  This is the most beautiful experience. 

  3. holliep says:

    How exciting! I’m glad Miriam was able to see the hatchings.

  4. Anonymous says:

    That is really awesome!!

  5. i am so excited about this and i’m not even there. love the pictures! xo

  6. tolovemercy1 says:

    i’m so glad you got pictures of this, sarah! i had this happen when i was a kid, and thought it was the most miraculous thing (and really, it is). also, when i was a kid, a few days after the baby birds hatched, these big black birds (that’s the technical term, btw ) came and threw the babies out of the nest and they all died! i was devastated, so make sure to keep those big jerks away from those babies! oh, and i’d marry soren.

  7. How sweet!! What perfect shots.

  8. I’m so glad they hatched and nothing bad happened with the extra egg!

  9. Momof2js says:

    What a blessing to get to see that and, being a good mommy, impart a lesson from it. 
    Yeah, about those darn natural deodorants…I thought I had found one with tea tree oil that would finally be a winner but I guess I’ve grown immune to it now.  Not good since summer is dawning!

  10. sunlesssea says:

    That’s so, so neat.

  11. That is so awesome. Quite unexpectedly it brought a tear to my eye at the miracle of it! Thanks for sharing the story & pictures.

  12. those are some good points. I do wonder, though, whether the approach to giving information about the whole topic can be the same for sons and daughters. I don’t know. I guess I’ll talk to Daddy and see what he thinks, too. I do let Judah see me nursing but I just hope he doesn’t remember.

  13. Wow…what a treat to get to see the chicks hatching!

Leave a Reply

