Scary morning

It had to be Jireh who would necessitate our first trip to the ER.

While we were attempting to be lazy lugabeds this morning (around 9:30 I guess) she unlocked the sewing room door (I had left the key in the door) and got into a junk box that I had set way back on my desk. In it was a pop pack of a few muscle relaxer pills that we’ve probably had for about 5 years. Also in it were some permanent markers. Miriam sounded the alarm that she had gotten into markers, and I ran upstairs to investigate and found she had covered my desk and her entire body in permanent red and blue squiggles. Then my glance noted the pop pack which had the foil backing scraped off and two pills visible. There had been three, I was pretty sure, so I called for Dave and we asked her if she had taken anything. I gagged her trying to make her vomit and there were tiny blue specks in what she was coughing up, so he packed her into the car and kept her talking on the way down to the hospital.

The doctors established that her pulse is good and they gave her some charcoal (mixed with soda) and are confident that will absorb the rest of what is in her stomach. However they are going to monitor her for 6 hours and make sure she keeps breathing, should she fall asleep.

Thank God things worked out the way they have.  He made sure to assign Jireh a very watchful (and always busy) guardian angel who wasn’t asleep even though we were, gave Miriam for my little watchdog, and caused her to scrape all the foil off so I would notice something was amiss besides the marker mess. I am hopeful the episode will be behind us around 4:30 today but prayers are appreciated in the meantime.

EDIT: She is home and totally fine, and back trying to get into everything again. Thank you all for your prayers and concern.
Jireh in the hospital:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Scary morning

  1. I can’t believe you didn’t call me- you are so calm. Beccah and I just prayed together on the phone and will be praying all day. Call Bex’s cell with info. Love you.

  2. Oh Sarah! How scary! It is so hard to keep everything dangerous out of curious little ones.
    ll will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Side note: I hope all the marker comes out!!

  3. Oh man, we’re praying.

  4. chad_toney says:

    Eek! Praying…We’ve had to go to the ER *twice* this past month! Thankfully, I just started a new job at the Hospital, so now we don’t even have to pay co-pays.

  5. Prayers most definitely!  SHe sure has an awesome guardian angel!

  6. joyinvanity says:

    Been praying for ya’ll.

  7. Oh, this is so scary! Praise God that it seems that Jireh will be okay.
    Do you keep syrup of ipecac in the house? I’ve never used it, but I have it around.

  8. Ooops, I’m using my hubby’s laptop again. The above comment by the guy in a tuxedo is from me, a girlie. 🙂

  9. holliep says:

    Scary! I’ll be praying for her.

  10. holliep says:

    Praise God! BTW, that picture of her is too funny. I wonder what the nurses thought of her marker legs? 🙂

  11. glad everything turned out well. She’s quite the artist. 🙂

  12. Akialuz says:

    I can’t imagine what you went through.  I was scared when Angelina took double dose of her vitamins!  this is incredible!  Thank God she’s well.  such relief.

  13. GranolaMomma says:

    I’m glad she’s all well. We had a little scare with Children’s Tylenol a couple years ago. It’s amazing how a 2yo can climb on top of a counter, open a cabinet without falling and open a childproof container, all within 3 minutes and nobody hearing a thing. We also had a 2yo break a collar bone just from falling off a dining room chair while sitting, not even standing! Have a blessed day!

  14. [This is Katherine, not Chris.] Oh wow, that is one of the best photos I have ever seen! Hilarious! I love the pen everywhere. That is a keeper.
    Praise God all is well!

  15. I love the coloring on the legs.  Does she shave them too…lol?

  16. bubbelcat says:

    Oh my!  I’m so glad she’s ok.  They do give your poor heart a workout don’t they, lol!

  17. melsevcik says:

    I am so glad that she is fine, and I saw that she was prior to seeing the picture of her.  I confess, I have never laughed so hard at that picture, it was totally hilarious.  Do you scrapbook?  You definately need to keep that story complete with photo for the record books! 

  18. whiffet says:

    Save that one for when she brings a friend home. I’d totally get it framed.

  19. BekahM says:

    Wow, I’m glad she is ok!

  20. AnniWongTon says:

    Wow. That was so scary. Glad she’s ok. My baby is so cute with all that marker on her.

  21. i’m so glad to see and hear everything is okay.  when i finally read this post i hadn’t heard about the markers, so when i saw the photo i wasn’t sure what was tied into all of this…haha…these children!  anna always says my naomi is like jireh…it’s like you are warning me now for what’s ahead 😉  anyhow, PTL she is home, safe and sound 🙂

Leave a Reply

