Conversations with preschoolers

Miriam: My eyes are better! There is no mocos in them anymore. [my spanglish kids call snot ‘mocos’ pronounced MO-coze]
Me: Yeah, that’s great.
Miriam: The mocos went home! They went out of my eyes and home to my nose! Isn’t that fun?

(I wish I could recreate her “Isn’t that fun” tone for you – it was that slightly condescending upbeat tone a parent such as myself uses when trying to motivate the child to do something.)

Jireh: What are you doing?
Me: Making soup.
Jireh: What is that?
Me: A bay leaf for the soup.
Jireh: A bay leaf for the soup?
(pause)
    So the bay leaf can swim?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Conversations with preschoolers

  1. Kids are so cute.  I wish I would have written done the cute things my kids said.  You will enjoy these conversations for years to come.

  2. Akialuz says:

    hahah  my children also say “mocos”  they don’t know any other word.  hahaha  funny!
    so the bay leave can swuim?    hahah  that is REALLY funny.  LOL

  3. Wow these are two hilarious stories. I miss them. I think baptism is 4/22. I would even wait another week if you could come, though!! *hint hint*

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hee-hee, so cute! My kids are the whitest, white kids, so it was so funny when my 2.5yr. old said Chonies, for his underwear…it was pretty funny!

  5. Momof2js says:

    Very funny. When is Jireh three? Or is she already?

  6. Momof2js says:

    One of my hyper-organic friends just told me about a study done on children, organic vs. non and their urine was tested for pesticides and the non group had levels that exceded the FDA’s allowed levels (whatever that means). I have to do more research. I’d like to think that the massively sweet and yummy and large strawberries that I bought at Costco today aren’t going to give us cancer.

Leave a comment