Another milestone for Mommy

You won’t believe what I did today…

I took all four kids to a playground all by myself. I have avoided doing this for about … oh, 4 years now … but after all their recent antics I figured I ought to let them expend energy in a more constructive manner. We went from 4:00 until almost 7 when it started to get dark. I didn’t have to worry about making dinner tonight, so we brought sandwiches and then when we came home, the kids went to bed. (I wanted to do the same, but I still had things to do.)

The playground is only a few minutes away, but it is kind of big with two sections, one with toddler-geared rides and one for bigger kids. So it is difficult to keep track of kids who are running in different directions in both sections. We walked from the car with Soren in the hip-carry wrap, Christina in the car seat, diaper bag and purse over my shoulder, holding Jireh’s hand and Miriam walking alongside. Then I switched Christina to the wrap. Next time I think I will leave the car seat and diaper bag at the car, because every time the girls went from one part of the playground to the other, I dragged all the stuff with me. I think instead I will wear 2 slings, and put Soren in and out as needed.

The sun was very low in the sky the whole time so the photos all came out blurry and/or “overexposed”, but such as they are they are in this album. Here are some highlights.



   

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Another milestone for Mommy

  1. mr_jargon says:

    What a beautiful family, that whole “mini-me” is really helping me with getting the names straight!

  2. Anonymous says:

    You are absolutely amazing!! I can’t believe it!!! Taking 4 kids to the park…just WOW! Do you use the same fabric as the front carry for the hip carry wrap? If so, how do you tie it?!

  3. holliep says:

    I was contemplating the whole park issue the other day. Decided against it after I had images of three kids running off in three different directions. Good for you!

  4. Akialuz says:

    I wish we had good park weather.  Anth got home and let them play on the snow; that’s about all the outside fun they had today.

  5. What a fantastic outing! Have you ever tried an Ergo sling?  http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/  Lately I’ve met several mothers who rave about them for older babies. I’ve heard a mama can carry a 40-pound kid on her back and it really feels fairly light. I was thinking that might be easier for you to carry Soren, then you could sling up Christina on the front in her regular wrap. ~KTL

  6. wow. i am impressed. were you wearing comfy clothes and shoes?

  7. ha! what a coincidence! three weeks and three days till my anniversary, too! can you believe five years?!

  8. Well done girl! Jireh looks like miriam in that picture.

  9. miriamel78 says:

    That’s great to get out with all the kids!  My problem is that I’m not used to watching 4, so when I am sitting holding Thomas at the park, I forget that there are still 3 kids running around, and only look for only 2.  Then there is a moment of sheer panic when I realize what I am doing.  Havn’t lost one yet, though!  lol

  10. It has been so long since I have been to a park that I almost forgot they existed. haha My daughter needs to spend waaaaaaaay more time playing outside. Problem is, Superfriends are indoors!

Leave a Reply

