Random update

Soren is now getting into everything. He got under the sink and dumped out the powdered cleanser (it was on a shelf in the back, he had to climb into the cabinet to get it). Today Dave opened the back door of my house to come in and Soren ran so fast that he was out before Dave even started to close it. He has a strange attraction to my drawers full of files and every time I am sitting at my desk I turn around and catch him dumping the contents of yet another file onto the floor. He also makes a beeline for my thread and bobbins drawer… just when I almost had Jireh trained to stay away from this stuff, I have to start all over again with Soren. Alas, though, he is still not talking at all. He makes several caveman-style grunts that usually don’t mean anything, but sometimes can be loosely translated into words. He also loves getting dressed and undressed, especially shoes.

Miriam’s new favorite phrase is “or somethim.” Putting her to bed just now she said “I’m going to take a nap [they still call going to bed ‘taking a nap’] and then I will wake up and you will make waffles.” I kind of wrinkled my nose (we had waffles a couple of times this week already) and so she said “Or maybe pancakes, or somethim.”

Christina is gurgling, talking and smiling up a storm lately. She’s sitting in her bouncy singing to me now, actually. Kind of a “gotta be there” thing, though. So here’s a visual. I wish I had video recording with sound on my camera, but this will have to suffice.

Dave’s at IHOP tonight so it’s off to watch a movie for me. ‘Night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Random update

  1. mr_jargon says:

    Alas, though, he is still not talking at all. He makes several caveman-style grunts that usually don’t mean anything, but sometimes can be loosely translated into words. He also loves getting dressed and undressed, especially shoes.Soren thinks in abstractions; as many theologians do. He doesn’t yet have the vocabulary to explain the very deep thoughts and ideas in his mind.

  2. Well, that certainly is an alternate to Dave’s theory that he has a severe lack of brain activity.

  3. sunlesssea says:

    He’s too busy gaining weight!

  4. holliep says:

    Love that picture of Christina. Good luck with Soren!
    Did you like Running with Scissors? I was thinking of renting it next time around.

  5. great shot! Sam is turning into some sort of curious cave man as well. No real words. He even remembered to forget mom and dad. 😉 How is Dave liking IHOP?

  6. “How is Dave liking IHOP?”I love it. Even though I get home super late, there is a certain bent appeal in giving nearly toxic food to people that are an hundred kilogrammes overweight.”Here is your food, sir. Anything else I can get you before your arteries collapse?”

  7. JeniLiz says:

    That is a sweet little expression on her face.

  8. rmromero says:

    A severe lack of brain activity? Why do all of Dave’s theories hinge on his own genetics?(Oooo… can’t wait to hear back from this one.)

  9. whiffet says:

    Lovely photo. And bad Soren.

  10. mr_jargon says:

    Wait a minute, do you guys speak Spanish in the house?

  11. “Wait a minute, do you guys speak Spanish in the house?”Yep. It’s the only language I speak with the children.

  12. “Here is your food, sir. Anything else I can get you before your arteries collapse?”
    That is hilarious, Dave. Kind of confirms my theory though, that I should hide when I eat for fear of what people may think of me.

  13. Akialuz says:

    jajaja   si yo fuese gorda no comeria fuera de mi casa.  :os
    I love that picture.  Drawers!!  I am having a hard time keeping Nella off the stairs! 

Leave a Reply

