My hard-earned gift

Thank you all so much for your kind words and comments. It turned out to be a really rewarding experience after all and I am so glad we decided to do this one at home. I can’t imagine what kind of intervention I would have had to go through if I had stalled out like that in the hospital. So many of my friends had to undergo c-sections because of that type of labor, and I can relate to how disheartening it must be! Even though the waiting was really difficult and emotionally taxing, it was so much better for me than jeopardizing future deliveries by rushing ahead with intervention. In this case since the baby and I were consummately healthy and handling it all so well, it worked out great. Of course every situation is different. Our God guided us through, though, with His customary flair for drama. (Seeing as our deadline to go the hospital route was 6am Friday morning, and she was born at 4:30am, it does seem well, planned by a good dramatic director, doesn’t it?)

Well, I’ll leave the rest of the story to the following pictures, for this blog anyway. I am planning to write a (more detailed) birth story for Christina’s delivery as I have for the other kids, and if you ladies are interested let me know and I can include you in the distribution. Thanks to all of you who said she was beautiful based on the pictures we posted Friday. I know that means you love me, because even though she IS beautiful, looking at the pictures you were looking at required more faith to believe that and I know you were looking through eyes of love! Frankly she looks like a newborn.  These pics are a bit better and in time I am confident she will become as photogenic as her siblings are.

Oh and how ’bout that 8 lbs 6 oz, huh? I had 3 people double check the weight on the scale. Hard to believe. God’s sense of humor is great.

Dave wanted me to title this “Why Being Married to Dave Hodges isn’t as Bad as They Said It Would Be” (or something like that). He lovingly prepared my postpartum meal request of steak, baked potato and salad.

The girls coo over their new baby sister.

Auntie Anna holds the hours-old Christina

No hospital background for these new baby pictures!! Yay!

Soren loves his baby too

Sophie wonders “What did I do? I was just bein’ friendly, ma!”

Eyes open

I think she is going to be brown-eyed after all

Sweet baby sleeping

This entry was posted in Pregnancy/Labor/Birth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

