Day at the Park

This morning I made the kids blueberry pancakes for breakfast.
Something about that makes me feel like some kind of domestic goddess.
Why is that? A lot of moms make that kind of breakfast for their brood
every day, right? But still it fills me with a big sense of
accomplishment. 2 eprops for me, as Rob would say. Another way of
saying “whoop-de-doo.”

I did something yesterday that I have never done before, not on purpose
anyway. I took the kids to the playground. I was meeting some other
moms there and I actually bundled my 3 year old, my 20 month old, and
my 5 month old into the car, with the double stroller, diaper bag, some
hand sewing to do while I sat on the bench, sippy cups, etc… into the
car and headed up there. I have always shuddered at the thought of
taking the kids to a playground. Even trying to keep track of Miriam
and Jireh on my mother in law’s backyard jungle gym while 6 months plus
pregnant with Soren was a challenge. It’s definitely just as much work
for me to watch them as it is for them to climb the monkey bars. I feel
like I have to have 2 extra sets of eyes or something, not to mention
beaming capability. How do you keep track of 2 different kids in a
playground filled with other kids? I’m still not sure whether dressing
them alike was a good thing or a bad thing. On the one hand, I know
which kids are mine. But on the other hand, how do I know if I’m
missing one, when they are in constant motion?

Here are some pictures from their excursion.

Jireh loves the swing. Soren’s not so sure.

My little monkey.
  

Miriam enjoys a break with Noah Stout.

Jireh’s very serious about fun.
 

Plain tuckered out
  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day at the Park

  1. MaMaMollisa says:

    Playgrounds scare me, too.  I always dressed the girls I was a nanny for in the brightest things I could find so they stood out easily to me, but I still felt like I watched them constantly.  It looks like your kids had fun. 
    LOL about the domestic goddess… I feel that way when I make my husband dinner lately.  How pathetic!

  2. that reminds me of being little at the playground myself. David and I used to knock loose bark off trees with sticks and say we were “tree doctors”. ah the memories.

  3. AnniWongTon says:

    heh. I love the way you did Jirehs hair. Take me to the park too. Looks like you had lots of fun. Miriam, the little flirt.

  4. holliep says:

    You know the day was a success when the children fall asleep in the car on the ride home. I prefer taking my kids to Target vs the park for air conditioning reasons. Looks like they had fun though.

  5. melsevcik says:

    Wondering if you got any hand sewing done while at the park?!  Joe and I (2 adults) took our two younger ones to the park Tuesday evening and other than taking pictures, we only accomplished keeping them with us and alive.  Mel M and I took our collective brood there in September and it was bedlem, but it did wear them out sufficiently! 

  6. Anonymous says:

    hey Sarah, thanks for the advice. I dont think warmth would help though because drinking tea makes it hurt more and pulsate…what is TMJ?

  7. Anonymous says:

    thanks Sarah, if its tmj I’ll be very pleased, doubtful as it is…I made an app. for Monday.

  8. MamaTatiana says:

    Aw, what a great day you had!  Kudos for taking them to the playground!  I like to dress my younger ones in very bright colors, all matching – when I think of it.  Bright colored hats work well too.
    I love blueberry pancakes – but my kids don’t.  So my specialty is chocolate chip pancakes here.  Yep, makes me feel like a domestic goddess, too!  ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. haha when i make Judah an EGG it’s an accomplishment!
    looks like you had fun. We go to the playground sorta frequently… when i first quit work we went a lot. i love it but it gets scary when it’s crowded. and i hate friendly dads. (except the ones i know, of course…)
    the kids are beyond cute and i need a thesaurus badly.
    xoxo

  10. Cecemines says:

    Ah yes, I remember those days in the playground.  When we lived in Israel I was always at the beach or pool with three non swimmers…that is why mothering is a “young woman’s” sport. 

  11. sunlesssea says:

    Hahaha, three car seats. Oh my!

  12. ErinLandrum says:

    I can understand the thing about the park–it is so hard to keep watching three children when they are all headed in different directions. At ‘lil Kirkegaard can’t walk yet, all of mine are mobile and very active. My youngest and shortest can climb any ladder you give him, and then he gives you three reasons why he should do it when you don’t really want him to try. I like going to drive-ins, it makes you feel like you’re accomplishing something without getting everybody in the car and everybody out of it. Did Miriam request heart-shaped blueberry pancakes? Now that would be the embodiment of domestic goddessry.

  13. Akialuz says:

    the park I take mine to is so small I don’t have much troule, thank God, and is three blocks down from my house, so no car ride needed.  :o)  If we go to a different one then Anth would be w/ me. I watch one and him the other.  Now, three!  We’ll see…  ouch!  We actually took them last week and it was nice.  Joshua was playing with all these little Mexican girls!  hee hee But I was upset b/c I couldn’t bend and “run around” w/ him.   They had so much fun. 

  14. MaMaMollisa says:

    Thanks for your encouraging comment yesterday… I’ll look forward to that “getting better before the end” part.  ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. sunlesssea says:

    Well, when we reach three car seats we’ll need a new car? That much will be nice at least. It’s going to be crazy having two. N. is still trying to sort out the Atlanta trip. I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

